History of SUN

The Silk Road Universities Network (SUN) was founded in 2015 by the Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, with 75 Universities from all over the world as its members. The purpose of the network is to expand the academic and cultural relations between the countries, and to promote peaceful coexistence and collective prosperity. This organization has 4 institutes: United Presidents of the Silk-Road Universities Network, International Association for Silk Road Studies, United Students of the Silk-Road Universities Network, Silkroadia Philharmonic Orchestra.

Due to the scientific, strategic, and economical changes in many parts of the globe, SUN plays a crucial role in the economic development of Asian countries. Having European countries such as Italy, Spain, Portugal, Greece, and Russia as its members, the network has stepped further into promoting academic collaborations and cultural/economic exchanges between all the countries along the historical Silk Road.

*The mixture of colorful stripes symbolizes the beauty of intermingles of cultural diversities along the Silk-Road.